Print Page

Birds of prey

Full Day
Book Program
Year Levels


Birds of prey, also known as raptors, hunt and feed on other animals. These birds are characterized by keen vision that allows them to detect prey during flight and powerful talons and hooked beaks. Eagles, hawks, falcons and owls are some examples of raptors. These animals are characteristically apex predators at the top of the food chain.

This program is only offered on Mondays and Tuesdays.

Maximum number of students for this program is 50 per day.

Learning Intentions

In this activity students will:

  • Define the term raptor
  • Identify different types of raptors found in Australia
  • Outline the physical features and adaptations of raptors that help them to survive
  • Identify the physical conditions of their environment including where raptors live, shelter requirements, food sources and predation
  • Understand the relationships that exist within a complex food web.


Students will participate in a 1 ½ hour ‘Meet the Beaks’ session followed by 3 x 45 minute workshops:

  • ‘Meet the Beaks’ session lead by Martin Scuffins from Leigh Valley Hawk and Owl Sanctuary
  • Workshop 1: Raptor identification and kite making
  • Workshop 2: Kahoot Quiz on physical features and adaptations
  • Workshop 3: Design a food web.

Victorian Curriculum

  • Living things have structural features and adaptations that help them to survive in their environment (VCSSU074)
  • The growth and survival of living things are affected by the physical conditions of their environment (VCSSU075)


Ecolinc offers the following outreach option: